A happy “gluten-free” ending

8 Jul

Following my meal plan for the week, last night we had Tortilla Espanola scheduled. I was quite excited to tackle it. As soon as I got home, I went to the kitchen and got to work.

I chopped up the Spanish onion and pealed and sliced the potatoes. I threw them in the pan with lots of olive oil, just like Mario Batali suggests.

After the onions and potatoes had cooked for 15 mins or so, I added the eggs. I let that cook for 10 mins or so and then put it in the oven.

Voila! This is what the finished product looked like. Yummy!

I then had to flip it on to a plate. Woops! Looks like it didn’t quite work.

When I put it on the plate, I simply turned it over. No one will notice, right? Paired with a salad. A delish and light meal, perfect for this heat. And look at the potatoey layers, perfecto!

 

I really enjoyed Spanish week! The flavors were really nice. The brand of smoked paprika I bought was La Chinata and it was amazing! I was really smokey flavors and I can see using regularly in the future. 

Perhaps you noticed that yesterday (Thursday), I didn’t make my weekly meal plan. There is a method to my madness! The reason is….this week is my last week gluten-free! 

That’s right folks; it has almost been a full 4 weeks. And let me tell you, my husband is celebrating! I guess this week at the grocery store, I will “wing it”. I will buy my favorite foods (mostly fresh veggies, fruits and nuts!) I would really like to select a  theme for next week, I am thinking Italian

We are planning to celebrate on Sunday with a gluten-filled day. The plan is to enjoy a toasted bagel for breakfast, a sandwich (panini?) on a baguette for lunch and pasta for dinner. To “test” the effects of the gluten, I must then refrain from eating any again for another 12-24 hours. I am supposed to observe any effects. This can range anywhere from digestive difficulties, fatigue, headaches to difficulty concentrating. I am secretly worried that I will misinterpret something I am feeling to be a sign of gluten intolerance or the opposite, disregard something I feel. I want the past 4 weeks to be worth something and to be an accurate “test”.

I will certainly keep you guys posted!

 

2 Responses to “A happy “gluten-free” ending”

  1. sensiblecooking July 9, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    That is one tasty gluten free cooking. Yummy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

