a weakness for béchamel and cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter

27 Jan

So I caved in yesterday and made a béchamel sauce with milk (and added some romano cheese for a special kick!) I tried the soy version 1st, and I really didn’t like it. It tasted, well, like soy. So I chucked it out and made one with milk. Mmmmmm! Much better. There’s a little voice in my head feeling somewhat guilty, but at least I didn’t eat a piece of flesh! I enjoyed it with a lentil dish my mother-in-law made for me and some brown rice. It was delicious and I didn’t feel deprived at all. I actually felt a little spoiled. So I guess I have made my decision then. I will eat some dairy but I will continue to avoid all animal flesh. This is definitely something that I will be able to maintain.

At the moment, I am enjoying a piece of toasted cranberry pumpkin seed bread from Stonemill Bakehouse spread with some cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter from Peanut Butter & Co. What a treat and a wonderful combination to boot! This is going to become my new favorite snack. It is a healthy, protein and fiber rich snack. I am usually not a fan of peanut butter. I am more an almond butter kind of gal. But, the peanut butters from Peanut Butter & Co. are delicious! They will convert any peanut butter hater to a peanut butter lover!

Leave a Reply

