3 May

Despite waking up to snow in April and failing failed miserably at doing my workout last night, I woke up with a positive attitude this morning!  Last night, we lost power (again!) at 7:30 pm, so really, being unable to do my workout really wasn’t my fault. After putting Sasha to bed, Frank and I cozied up to candlelight and watched episodes of Seinfeld on our laptop. I munched on some dark chocolate to soothe my woes. I went to bed a bit before 10:00. The power only cake back on around 3:30am. What are they doing?! That is the third time that the power has gone out in a week. I am going to call them today to find out!

 

My plan to change my morning routine was successful!! I woke up earlier and managed to get everything done in time to leave the house at 7:45. I caught my train without even running!! But, obviously, because of the freak snow fall, no workout for me this morning. I am starting to think that with loosing power on a regular basis and weather mishaps; maybe I should join a gym. Well, it’s something to consider.

To follow my “feel good in my skin” challenge, I am supposed to start the day with a smoothie. Yesterday I didn’t and regretted it. This morning, with all the extra time (and less stress), I managed to make myself one. Blueberries, banana, scoop of vanilla protein powder, water and boston lettuce! Yummy! I paired that with 2 whole wheat waffles with almond butter and a drizzle of maple syrup. Wow, a filling breakfast. It should keep me going for quite awhile.

After complaining to my best friend yesterday about being disappointed and discouraged for not losing weight, she gave me the best advice. Take a break from the scale. This actually is in line with the “feeling good in my skin” philosophy. Focus on how your body feels and how you feel instead of the number on the scale. I have learned a thing or two in the past few weeks about increasing my protein intake in order to have energy, so now it’s time to put it into action on my own! For the next 3 weeks, no scale, no counting calories or grams of anything. Focus on how I feel. I still have to watch what I eat, focus on certain proportions of macronutrients that I am eating, but I do no necessarily need to count them.

 

ACTION PLAN PART II

 

Our house is constantly a disaster. I want to blame it on Sasha, my messy toddler, but really, my husband and I have no one to blame but ourselves. We can never seem to have control over our mess. Even on weekends. It takes me the entire weekend to clean up our mess from the week, and before you know it, I have created another. What can we say!? We love to cook and eat. We also enjoy our leisure time. So what is the solution? Here is a list of a possible few:

  1. Try our best to keep the house as tidy as possible. Clean up when ever we have a chance
  2. Clean as we go. We moving from one room to the next, do a quick scan to see if there is anything we can bring with us.
  3. Use as few dishes as possible.
  4. Take 5 mins. In the morning to unload or load up the dishwasher (note: will need to add this to the routine)
  5. Hire a cleaning service mid-week to clean what ever has accumulated until this point.
  6. Have a good supper & tidying routine. One of us takes care of Sasha while the other cleans the kitchen.

 

What do you do to keep your house tidy?

I have chosen to try and implement all of these. I will be meeting with my husband to discuss these.

One Response to “”

  1. Lynn May 5, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    For what it’s worth, I didn’t think your house looked that bad Saturday.

Leave a Reply

