A little bit of this…a little bit of that

22 Jun

Here is a random sampler of meals that I have enjoyed over the past week. My first week was really quite easy to stick with. I have been able to resist my usual temptations such as cookies and pasta. I have become more aware of how many foods contain wheat and gluten. I’ve even had to stop using a my favourite salad dressing! So far there has been no change in my weight. Perhaps it is the healthy serving of ice cream I have been enjoying practically every evening! I do have one confession. Sunday I slipped up and ate “Cookie ‘n’Cream” Ice cream. It only hit me half way through my bowl that they were actual cookie chunks that I was eating! Gluten filled cookies! Woops! I should be more careful!!

Who could resist such a delicious looking breakfast? Now that I am doing my gluten-free experiment, I was worried that by choosing a gluten-free waffle I would somehow be compromising. I am pleasantly surprised to find that gluten-free waffles are just as tasty as regular ones. Gluten-free waffles, greek yogurt, fresh fruit and a drizzle of maple syrup are the perfect thing to begin the day!

DSCF0134.JPG

Here is another littles taster….grilled polenta over baked beans. Gluten-free and tasty to boot! Sprinkle a little sharp cheddar on the top and you are in heaven. If you haven’t tried it, you should!! Sweet meets salty….a match made in heaven for sure!


DSCF0122.JPG


A grill cheese made with gluten-free bread and mozzarella with melon slices on the side. The bread does not have quite the same texture as regular, but I have gotten used to it.


DSCF0116.JPG


A delicious salad beast for lunch. Chock full of veggies and chickpeas for protein. So filling!


DSCF0118.JPG


I hope my posts have helped anyone contemplating trying a gluten-free diet. It has been a very easy transition. I’ve purchased a few GF items, but it has been minimal. The core of anything healthy and balanced should always be fresh veggies, fruits, lean protein, healthy fats and whole grains. There are plenty of GF whole grains available to choose from! Of course, there will be challenges. But like anything, it’s always best to plan ahead!

I am off to do a little but of reading before bed. Goodnight!



Leave a Reply

