Feeling a little Spanish….

2 Jul

Hello! 

Yesterday was Canada Day so no meal planning was done. Instead, I participated in the annual tradition of helping people move.  I am proud to say I unpacked several boxes. That means today, I have a lot to catch up on! Better get started!

 First thing first, breakfast!

 Today I enjoyed 2 Mesa Sunrise waffles smothered in Greek yogurt, sliced banana and a drizzle of maple syrup. Yummy! And, I didn’t have to share it because my son slept in! Lucky me!

Today for lunch, I had a delicious salad. Check out all that color!

 After that, I was pretty stuffed! For dinner, I have planned Flank steak with corn-avocado salsa. Pictures to come!

Next up, meal planning.

So next week is my last week gluten-free. Due to the heat, I am feeling a little….Spanish.  I hope to pair these meals with LOTS of sangria! Here is the menu I came up with:

Saturday

Grilled Spanish-Style Snapper with Tomato and Green Olive Salsa with rice

Salad

Sunday

Smoked Paprika Roasted Chicken (Cooked on the BBQ, beer can chicken style!)

Mini-potatoes

Veggies

Monday

Smoky Red Rice and Chorizo with Black Beans

Tuesday

Spicy Spanish Mini Meat Loaves and Piquillo Pepper Rice

Wednesday

Pulled pork w/corn tortillas  or Yucatan-Style Panuchos

Salad

Thursday

Tortilla Española with a salad

I have a confession to make.

Over the past month or so I am been gaining weight little by little….and I don’t like it one bit! The problem is,  I have a little too much on my plate (pun intended) to do anything about it. I have overwhelmed myself in the past by setting big and unattainable goals and I have promised myself that from now on, I will take baby steps. That is the only way to make new and lasting habits. Whenever I have tried to make many changes at once, it never works. I think it’s best when things are done slowly. But, I am not sure if now is a good time because, like I said, I have a lot on my plate. Perhaps I can start small? I can work a little harder at reducing my portion sizes and making healthy food choices. I think that is a great start!

Question: What other small changes do you think I can make?

 

2 Responses to “Feeling a little Spanish….”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend roundup « Living is an adventure - July 5, 2010

    […] my husband and I got to make our Smoked Paprika Roasted Chicken. We swapped out the fish because we were invited to parent’s house for dinner on Sunday, and […]

  2. A happy “gluten-free” ending « Living is an adventure - July 9, 2010

    […] really enjoyed Spanish week! The flavors were really nice. The brand of smoked paprika I bought was La Chinata and it was […]

Leave a Reply

