Weekend roundup

5 Jul

Wow, it’s hot out there! Thank goodness I have planned a hot weather-friendly meal plan for this week.

 Here are the highlights from the weekend.

 Friday night, as planned, I made Flank steak with my famous and long awaited Corn-Avocado Salsa! It was delicious and my husband said “I really nailed it”. The flavors, that is. I just love the color!

 Saturday morning, I enjoyed a bowl of Vanilla Sunrise with a sliced banana, one of the new favors from Nature’s Path. Here’s how they describe it:

“A delicious warm real vanilla breakfast cereal taste with a variety of crunchy textures from flakes, puffs and crispies make this a genuinely tasty gluten free breakfast.”

 I have to say that I agree! A nice light vanilla taste…and makes a wonderful combination with the banana.

 Saturday, my husband and I got to make our Smoked Paprika Roasted Chicken. We swapped out the fish because we were invited to parent’s house for dinner on Sunday, and salmon is on the menu.  Now, for those who don’t know how to make beer-can chicken, it is quite easy.

 Step 1

First, get you supplies. You need a BBQ, a can of beer, a pie plate and a chicken.

 Step 2

Open the can of beer and drink ½. Because I am eating gluten-free, we replaced the beer in the can with white wine. Normally, you drink only half the can of beer, and keep the other half in the can to infuse into the chicken. You don’t get a beer taste, but instead a tender, moist chicken.

 Step 3

Fill your pie plate with water, and place under the grill of your BBQ, pushing it to one side. This will be the side you place your chicken on.

 Step 4

Wash, dry and season your chicken as you wish. We followed this recipe.

 Step 5

Place your can of beer on the grill of your BBQ (over the pie plate) and place your chicken over the can. Stuffing the can up into the chicken. Make a tri-pod with the legs of the chicken to ensure the chicken is stable and doesn’t fall over.

Step 6

Turn the burner on the opposite side of the BBQ to medium-high. You want the BBQ to reach a temperature of about 400 degrees. Close the lid and wait.

 Periodically check the temperature of the BBQ. Depending on the size of the chicken, it usually takes about 1 ½ hrs. Be careful when you remove the chicken because the can is hot! We use tongs.

 

The chicken was delicious! We paired it with baby potatoes and grilled zucchini. The paprika was really nice and smoky; it added a really nice flavor to the chicken. By the way, I shared that entire breast with my son, it wasn’t all for me!

 

 Sunday morning we treated ourselves to bacon and eggs. I even scrambled the eggs in the little bacon bits that were left in the pan. Delicious! My only complaint was that the bacon was way too salty! Paired with gluten-free toast and sliced tomato.

 

For dinner, I headed to my parent’s house where my mother made Salmon baked in the oven with ginger, garlic, soy sauce and maple syrup. Paired with broccoli and rice, very tasty! Sorry, no pics!

 I have another modification to our menu. Tonight, we’ve been invited to a friend’s house for dinner. We just found out that some friends of ours are moving to Belgium for 2 years. We are having a goodbye dinner in their honor. It should be a challenging meal because they aren’t aware that I am eating gluten-free. Hopefully there will be something for me to eat.

That’s all for me right now! Enjoy the heat! And I’ll be back soon for some random thoughts 🙂

One Response to “Weekend roundup”

  1. Magic of Spice July 6, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    Good stuff:)

Leave a Reply

